The fifth international symposium on radiative transfer

Menguc, M. Pinar
Selçuk, Nevin
Webb, Brent W.
Lemonnier, Denis
This special issue is based on the papers selected from the Fifth International Symposium on Radiative Transfer, which was held in June 2007, in Bodrum, where the seventh wonder of the ancient world, the Mausoleum of Halicarnassus was once located in about 350 BC. This symposium is a follow-up of the four previous meetings held in Kuşadası in 1995 and 1997, in Antalya in 2001 and in Istanbul in 2004. Once more, the radiation transfer community had the most pleasurable time of assembling to discuss the cutting-edge research and applications of radiation transfer. This time, however, there was an additional reason to celebrate. RAD-V, organized by M. Pinar Mengüç and Nevin Selçuk, was co-located with the ELS-X, the Tenth Electromagnetic and Light Scattering Conference, organized by Michael I. Mishchenko, Gorden Videen and M. Pinar Mengüç. Following the tradition, this symposium was dedicated to three outstanding researchers who have contributed to the international radiation transfer community significantly over the years. Professors André Charette, Leonid Dombrovsky and Michael F. Modest were recognized this time, adding to the honor of Professors R. Viskanta, N. Özışık and M. Lallemand in 2001, and Professors Jack R. Howell, Jean-François Sacadura and Yasuo Kurosaki in 2004. Approximately 150 scientists from more than 20 countries participated in the joint RAD-V and ELS-X meeting. The symposium program included a plenary lecture by M.I. Mishchenko, dedication lectures by A. Charette, L. Dombrovsky and M.F. Modest, and invited lectures by L.S. Rothman and J.-J. Greffet. In addition, there were 48 contributed papers and 22 posters on several topics, including novel radiative transfer models, time-dependent and coupled radiative transfer applications, radiative properties of gases, droplets, particles and aggregates, radiation transfer in medicine, biological systems, combustion systems, nano-scale phenomena, advanced diagnostics and inverse radiation problems. All of the papers accepted to the symposium were reviewed rigorously on full-manuscript basis by two or three experts. Many of the International Scientific Committee members who assisted in the review process attended the meeting. Several others who did not present any papers have still volunteered their time and energy in the review process. We are thankful to all these reviewers, as without them it would have been impossible to ensure the quality of the papers presented in the symposium. These papers were further reviewed by the four special issue editors after the meeting and 16 of them were deemed acceptable for publication in this special issue. We would like to acknowledge the help and encouragement of Dr. Charon Duermeijer, the publishing editor of JQSRT, and the meticulous work of Ms. Sara Doman, the special issue editor at Elsevier. With the initiative of Dr. Duermeijer, we had the opportunity to award the very first JQSRT Young Scientist Award to Isil Ayranci-Kilinç of METU, Ankara. This new award was initiated to acknowledge the contribution of young researchers in the field under the age of 36. Those who had published in JQSRT since the beginning of 2006 and who had presented a paper in the symposium were eligible for the award. Both Dr. Ayranci-Kilinç and the runner-up, Dr. Frédéric André of INSA, Lyon, were recognized for their significant contributions to the field. The papers they presented at RAD-V are included in this special issue. The symposium could have not been realized without having the devoted and totally unselfish efforts of several individuals. Dr. Faruk Arinç, the Secretary General of the ICHMT was the real driving force for the execution of all the details of logistics, organization and arrangements. Ms. Gulter Mut, Ms. Zeynep Serinyel and several student-workers who helped Professor Arinç both before and during the meeting made the symposium delightful. Mr. Mathieu Francoeur of the University of Kentucky expanded considerable effort before the symposium to prepare the papers for review and later for the Proceedings. Finally, Drs. Michael Mishchenko and Gorden Videen, who were the co-chairs for ELS-X deserve credit for the success of this joint meeting, which allowed the two communities to get together for the entire week. We thank all of them. The financial contributors to the organization of this symposium included the Scientific and Technological Council of Turkey (TUBITAK), the Middle East Technical University (METU) and the University of Kentucky. Special thanks go to the National Science Foundation through Dr. Patrick Phelan who sponsored six researchers/students. Professor Brent Webb, Brigham Young University deserves credit for putting together the proposal to NSF with Professor M.P. Mengüç. Dr. Michael Mishchenko was instrumental in securing NASA support to cover the registration fees of invited lecturers. Additional support received from the Office of Naval Research and US Army Research Laboratory, with the help of Drs. Vinod Agarwala and Gorden Videen, enhanced the success of the joint meeting significantly. As in previous years, ICHMT awarded grants to several young scientists to attend the symposium. We hope to continue with the tradition of the Radiation Symposia in the coming years.
Citation Formats
M. P. Menguc, N. Selçuk, B. W. Webb, and D. Lemonnier, “The fifth international symposium on radiative transfer,” pp. 177–179, 2008, Accessed: 00, 2020. [Online]. Available: