Yesemek Stone Quarry and Sculptural Workshop

Tuğcu, Ayşe
The significance of Yesemek Stone Quarry and Sculptural Workshop in Gaziantep Islahiye province is rooted in its basalt quarry and stone sculptures found at the site. Yesemek was first discovered by Felix Von Luschan in 1890 while he was excavating Zincirli (Sam’al). Between 1958 and 1961, the site was excavated by a team under the leadership of Prof. Dr. Bahadır Alkım. The excavations at the site yielded approximately three hundred finished or unfinished lion, sphinx and mountain god sculptures. While the exact function of these sculptures are still not known, the thesis will explore the function of these sculptures by examining the architectural structures where the sculptures could have been used as architectural decoration. Another issue that will be discussed in the thesis is the date of Yesemek workshop and sculptures. To that end, Yesemek sculptures will be stylistically compared to Late Bronze and Iron Age sculptures.
Citation Formats
A. Tuğcu, “Yesemek Stone Quarry and Sculptural Workshop,” M.S. - Master of Science, Middle East Technical University, 2012.